Announcement: New collaboration roles and World/Story linking now available7 min read

by | Nov 28, 2017 | Plotist |

At Plotist, it is no secret that we are huge fans of collaboration. This is one of the reasons why we offer collaboration options free regardless of the subscription type you have. We also understand the need to have different types of collaborators, so today we release different roles and permissions for your collaborators! As an added bonus, we are also introducing the ability to link Worlds and Stories together!

Our inspiration for the different roles comes from feedback and requests by you, our amazing users. We’ve had requests to allow publishers and agents access to private worlds and stories, without letting them make changes to your creations. We have also had requests to link worlds and stories together to help track what stories have been written for each world.

All the roles

As a reminder, we originally offered two roles: Owner and Collaborator.

The Owner is the one who created the World or Story and they have full control over it’s content and roles. Owners are the only ones who can delete a World or Story, invite others to collaborate, revoke roles, or change the private/public status of a World or Story.

A Collaborator on a World has permission to view, create, edit, and delete any of the elements and timelines. Someone with that role on a Story can view, create, and edit and chapters.

Introducing two new roles

Worlds and Stories now also have a new role known as Spectator. As the name implies, a Spectator is able to view a World or Story, but they are not able to edit anything (content or roles). You can now work with your agent, publisher, beta readers, tabletop players, family, or others without worrying about an accidental edit.

An important note about the Spectator Role. If your World/Story is private, only those you give this role to will be able to see your World or Story. However, if your World/Story is public, all users of Plotist will automagically have the same permissions as this role. This is important to note as anyone with this role will be able to add comments to the World or Story (something coming very soon!).

The last new role is unique to Worlds only. As we know that people love to write stories that take place in Worlds, we have created a Storyteller role. This role allows a user to create and link (see section below) a Story in Plotist to any World they have permission to. This is displayed on the Story itself and is showcased in the World. And in the same way you can have a public World where everyone is a Spectator, you can now also have a World that it’s open to Storytellers, so everyone becomes a Storyteller.

Remember that Worlds and Stories have independent sets of roles and permissions. It is therefore possible to have someone as a Spectator on World but have Collaborator permission on a linked Story.

Linking Worlds and Stories

The final addition to this release is the ability to link a Story and a World to each other. Inside a World, there is a new section named “Stories” where all the Stories written in that World are listed. From that section, you can create new Stories in that world or link existing ones.

On a Story, the sidebar will show the World it is linked to. You can link a Story to a World either on the Story creation wizard or, once created, under settings, where you can also create a new world for your story. Just keep in mind that while a World can have many Stories, a Story can only belong to one World.

 

In order to link a Story to a World, a user must be the Owner of the Story and either a Storyteller, Collaborator, or Owner for that World.  Privacy options still apply: private Stories will not be listed as part of a World and private Worlds will not be shown on the Story’s sidebar, unless you have permission to see that World or Story.

Get Involved

On the sidebar and in the Collaborator section of every World or Story, there is a button with the label “Request to Collaborate” (if you are not a collaborator already) or “Invite” (if you are the owner).

When browsing around Plotist, if you find some interesting Worlds (or Stories) that you think you could help elaborate or you would like to write Stories for, you can click on the “Request” button to ask the owner for permission. The dialog will allow you to select the role you would like in that World or Story, and we will notify the Owner about your request.

As the Owner, you can always invite your friends, colleagues, players, agents and editors to your Worlds and Stories. As a World’s Owner, you can also enable, in the World’s settings, for anyone to write Stories in that world. And of course, the choice of roles will always be yours, whether when inviting people or accepting requests.

You can learn more about the different roles and their unique permissions here. If you have any thoughts, questions, or have more suggestions leave us a comment here, or come join our forums or our discord. We love hearing from you.

Comments

Featured Interactive Timeline

Saga Comic Interactive TimelineInteractive Timeline for Saga Comic by our Sian!

Plotist on Instagram

  • We thought we'd take a moment and introduce everyone to our team! #selfie #plotist #OurLittleFamilyWorkingForYou
  • While some our team were busy with Google Cardboard, our Community Storyteller was busy working to translate this found object. #FridayFun
  • Armed for #TowelDay, our Community Storyteller is now capable of braving poetry thanks to Stephen Fry

Follow Us!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This